The chairperson or a member may, by writing under his hand addressed to the Central Government, resign from his office at any time:

Provided that the chairperson or member shall, unless he is permitted by the Central Government to relinquish office sooner, continue to hold office until the expiry of three months from the date of receipt of such notice or until a

person duly appointed as a successor enters upon his office or until the expiry of his term of office, whichever is the earliest.